It’s the same-old, same-old. Let’s get down to the nitty gritty.

After going on a long and tedious search for numerous film blogs, I found myself reading yet another film review or another gossip piece on our beloved celebrities (cough cough, bradgelina). Out of the countless blogs, there were two particular blog sites that I appreciated (to an extent) and also disapproved of (to an extent). One of the blogs that I am referring to is The Guardian, while it offered interesting posts that are up-to-date and a well designed layout, it lacked substance.

the-guardian

By substance, I mean – what am I getting out of these posts?

Screen Shot 2016-09-20 at 6.14.33 PM.png

As much as I might be entertained by such topics, where exactly do I see anything about the importance, the artistry, or the hard work that goes into cinema? How am I getting informed (besides by virtually barging in on Brad and Angelina’s love life)? Well the answer is – I’m not. I do appreciate the entertainment value that this blog holds, but it doesn’t offer my particular interests in film any merit.

Now the second blog was a bit more suiting to my tastes and that is the blog at Film Independent. This blog actually had a post regarding a cultural exchange program and included the participants’ shorts. I don’t know about you, but seeing up-and-coming filmmakers’ cinematic works is exciting, refreshing, and for me – educational.

Film Indie1.png

It also seems that Film Independent is fond of the “oldies but goodies” and includes content regarding the importance of these films, like Spirited Away. The blog as a whole also includes not reviews, but actual critical analyses of films that I’ve personally never heard of before. Now that’s substance.

Film Indie2.png

Even though Film Independent offered a lot more informative and useful information than the blog at The Guardian, they both lack certain topics that I will include in my posts. These topics include local information regarding undependant films and film festivals as well as analysis over many experimental works that do not even fall under the “Independent” genre. I will look deeper than what these two blogs have to offer. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

